wurc2018slider fin

Wayamba University Research Congress 2018 organized by the Senate Research and Higher Degree Committee (SRHDC) was held for the third conservative time on 04 July 2018 at the Faculty of Livestock, Fisheries and Nutrition having the main focus to uplift the status of research which is a value added quality standard in the higher education institutes. In this year the theme of the congress was ‘Our Innovations for National Development’. The Vice-Chancellor of WUSL, Prof EMP Ekanayake graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The keynote speech on ‘Developing a Dynamic Research Culture’ was delivered by the eminent scientist Prof. S.H.P. Parakrama Karunaratne, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Peradeniya glorified the occasion through his address on “How to develop dynamic research culture”.

The scientific contribution made by the University academics in 2017 was recognized by awarding the most outstanding and the merit awards. Two senior academics, Prof. G.A.K.S. Perera and Prof. K.P. Vidanapathirana, shared the Most Outstanding Researcher Award while Prof. K. Yakandawala, Prof. C.V.L. Jayasinghe and Prof. N.S. Kottearachchi awarded with Commendation Certificates. Dr. J.M.K.J.K. Premaratne received the Most Outstanding Young Researcher Award where as Dr. J.M.J.W. Jayasinghe, Dr. M.A.P.C. Piyathilake and Dr. D.R. Gimhani were commended for their contributions.

Thirty three novel research findings were presented under four parallel technical sessions on Agriculture, Applied Sciences and Technology, Management, and Livestock, Fisheries, Food and Nutrition by both the postgraduate students and the grant holders who received the funds from the University for conducting research. The abstracts of all the presented studies were published in the Proceedings of Wayamba University Research Congress 2018. Three outstanding presenters were awarded from each session.