Welcome to Faculty of Applied Sciences



The Faculty of Applied Sciences of the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka was established with effect from 01st October, 1999 by the Government Notification in the Extraordinary Gazette No. 1093/8 of Tuesday, 17 August, 1999. The Faculty is located at Kuliyapitiya Premises of the University and was assigned with four Departments of Study namely, Computing & Information Systems, Electronics, Industrial Management and Mathematical Sciences.

Our Vision

To become the premier Applied Sciences Faculty that enriches the Sri Lankan community with graduates of vibrant intellectuality, outstanding professionalism and brilliant personality.

Our Mission

To prepare our graduates from the Faculty of Applied Sciences to become successful professionals within a global society through an education rooted in science and industry.


Message from the Dean

The Faculty of Applied Sciences was established on 01st October 1999 with the establishment of the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka as one of its four faculties.  It was a transformation of the then Faculty of Applied Sciences I of the Rajarata University of Sri Lanka into a fully-fledged Faculty.

At present, four academic Departments are functioning under the Faculty:

  • Department of Computing & Information Systems
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of Industrial Management
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences

The Departments offer course modules in the subject areas of Computer Science, Electronics, Industrial Management, and Mathematics, Mathematical Modelling & Statistics, respectively, for the following Degree Programmes.

  • B.Sc. (General) Degree (3 years)
  • B.Sc. (Joint Major) Degree (4 years)
  • B.Sc. (Special) Degree in Applied Electronics
  • B.Sc. (Special) Degree in Computer Science
  • B.Sc. (Special) Degree in Industrial Management
  • B.Sc. (Special) Degree in Mathematics with Statistics

Students from the Advanced Level Physical Science Stream are admitted to follow these degree programmes.  There are three subject combinations comprising of three subjects, to choose from at the beginning of the first year.  The students will continue on these paths for two years until they are selected for Joint Major or Special Degree programs based on their performance at the first two years.

The Joint Major Degree Programme, where students major in two subjects, have a six-months full-time industrial training and a final year project that provide opportunities for students to experience the industrial environment and to master the soft skills sought by the employers.  The special degree programs have been designed to train the students to take up careers especially in the academic and research fields.

All the Degree Programmes are conducted in English medium.  There is a significant practical component involved in every programme, especially with the subjects of Computer Science and Electronics, and sufficient laboratory facilities are available to give the students the required hands-on experience.

Undergraduates have the opportunity to publish and present the results of their projects at the annual Research Symposia of the Faculty.  Each Department has a students’ Academic Society through which the students can perform various co-curricular activities.

The degree programs and the subjects offered by the Faculty being more practical based and industry oriented, the graduates of the Faculty have recorded higher employability rates. Our graduates are well employed in positions ranging from middle level upwards in education, banking, management, technology and other fields in the industry and services sectors.

The Faculty continues to enrich its programmes in response to developments in the field of higher education and industry needs.  We strive to equip our undergraduates with knowledge, skills and right attitudes to face the challenges in the wider world or work.

 Dr. LDRD Perera







Dr. L.D.R.D. Perera

Dean/Faculty of Applied Sciences


Prospectus Title

18 19

17 18

16 17

Contact Information



Faculty of Applied Sciences,
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka,
Sri Lanka.



+(94) 37 2283623
+(94) 37 2281749
Fax +(94) 37 2281663
E-mail  deanfas@wyb.ac.lk
QR Code